Enjoy!

EnjoyThis passage from Genesis is really such a fresh reminder for me to see and to enjoy Life.

And the Lord said to Abram, after Lot had separated from him: “Lift your eyes now and look from the place where you are—northward, southward, eastward, and westward; for all the land which you see I give to you and your descendants forever. And I will make your descendants as the dust of the earth; so that if a man could number the dust of the earth, then your descendants also could be numbered. Arise, walk in the land through its length and its width, for I give it to you.” Then Abram moved his tent, and went and dwelt by the terebinth trees of Mamre, which are in Hebron, and built an altar there to the Lord.”  – Genesis 13:14-18 (NKJV)

What do you see from where you are? 

Abram and Lot had just separated to avoid strife among their herdsmen due to their great flocks. Lot chose the well-watered plain of Jordan, while Abram dwelt in the land of Canaan.

This is when the Lord said to Abram: “Lift your eyes now and look from the place where you are—northward, southward, eastward, and westward; for all the land which you see I give to you and your descendants forever” Gen 13:14

Wow, how awesome is that!? It’s not, where do you see that you’ll be one day, Abram? Instead, it is “What do you see from where you are standing right now?”

And I love how the Lord didn’t tell Abram to just look north, but also south, east and west, -mapping the shape of the cross – but also encouraging Abram to have a broader perspective, to see more! To see the great and the small. To take it all in.

So I lifted my eyes too, to see both physically and spiritually from the place that I am.

With my physical eyes I  see my lovely family, my home, I see my church, my pastors, my job, the people I get to serve with, I see youth, I see meet-ups and conversations, I see sunny skies and palm trees, I see high rise buildings and traffic, food … With my spiritual eyes I see Jesus, I see His love, health, wholeness, anointing, liberty, joy, peace, protection, creativity, favor, strength, right standing with God, open doors, opportunities to be a blessing, His faithfulness… and the list could go on and on…

It Is A Gift

And listen to this, “All the land that you see I give to you.”

The Lord is telling Abram that everything he sees He gives. It’s a gift!

This reminds me of Luke 15:31 – “And he said to him, ‘Son, you are always with me, and all that I have is yours.”

Jesus is a gift, my family, my job, my home, opportunities, people, health, love, wholeness, righteousness etc – it is all a gift! Already given.

Enjoy

Don’t see the significance of this yet? 🙂

Let’s take a look at v 18:

“Arise, walk in the land through its length and its width, for I give it to you.” Then Abram moved his tent, and went and dwelt by the terebinth trees of Mamre, which are in Hebron, and built an altar there to the Lord.”

Do you know what Abram did when God told him to arise and walk in the land? I imagined him going for a long hike. Treading through the land to possess it. But Abram is so cool. He knows that this land is given. It’s not for him to possess some day. He already possesses it now. You know what he did?

He moved his tent and dwelt by the terebinth trees.

When you own the land, you can dwell there.
When it belongs to you, you can enjoy it. I love this!

Jesus

But Abram didn’t stop there; He built an altar. He remembered the Lord’s death.

He who did not spare His own Son, but delivered Him up for us all, how shall He not with Him also freely give us all things?” Romans 8:32

He gave Himself in His death and in His resurrection. In Him all things are already given. All by His grace, His unmerited and undeserved favor.

When I have the revelation that everything is already given because of Jesus, there’s a sense of contentment and peace and gratefulness. There’s rest. I don’t have to strive, or compare, or try to achieve, or compete, or be jealous. I can simply enjoy Him and all that He is to me, I can enjoy life in the midst of everything that is not perfect, I can settle my heart, be supply conscious, be generous, be happy and joyful – and expect good things from a good Daddy God.

“Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life; And I will dwell in the house of the Lord forever.” Psalms 23:6

