Jesus Followed Him

img_0589

I was so touched when I read this:

“While He spoke these things to them, behold, a ruler came and worshiped Him, saying, “My daughter has just died, but come and lay Your hand on her and she will live.” So Jesus arose and followed him, and so did His disciples.” – Matthew 9:18-19

Earlier in the book of Matthew we saw how Jesus invited fishermen and tax collectors to follow him, and they left everything and followed Him.

Here a ruler came to Jesus and invited Him to come and lay His hand on His daughter who had just died. And Jesus arose, left the conversation he was having with John’s disciples, and followed him!

The Son of God Himself arose to follow a man in despair.

So touched by this gesture. This is my Jesus. He is so willing to be inconvenienced. So willing to Save, to be Life, to be Supply, to Love.

Jesus came to his house and put aside the wailing crowd. He took the girl by the hand, and the girl arose. From the dead! (v25)

I’m simply reminded of the Lord’s heart for me. He is with me 24/7 and ever willing and able to save – in the small and the major. Actually I believe He loves to be invited into every part of my life. 🙂

 

