Have a Dream, Not A Problem

img_0341I am inspired to clean my room today. haha. And to create some order and direction into my life. Just take a look at this:

“THE EARTH WAS WITHOUT FORM, and void; and darkness was on the face of the deep. And the Spirit of God was hovering over the face of the waters. Then God said, “Let there be light”; and there was light. And God saw the light, that it was good; and God divided the light from the darkness. God called the light Day, and the darkness He called Night. So the evening and the morning were the first day.” Genesis 1:2-5 (NKJV Strong’s)

In Hebrew ‘form’  is ṯôhû, and its root means ‘to lie waste a desolation (of surface), i.e. desert; a worthless thing; in vain: — confusion, empty place, without form, nothing, (thing of) nought, vain, vanity, waste, wilderness.

A messy room and confused life

As I’m reading this I picture my messy room,  my disorganised closet etc. My room is “without form.”

More so it gets me thinking about my life. Where am I at? Am I living the life that I want to live? Am I just settling for status quo, and surviving rather than thriving? Am I taking charge? What kind of life do I want to live?

How is your life? Is it “without form?” Like a desert or wilderness, dry and drained? Are you confused? Does your life seem empty and wasted? Is it dark?

How God deals with it

Let’s see  how God dealt with the earth being without form and dark.

God speaks into existence what isn’t there, and then He creates order and gives it names.

God sees the status quo (without form and dark), but He also knows what He wants! He is seeing what He wants the Earth to be like. It’s like He has a drawing or blueprint, and then He creates and speaks according to that. And I love how He doesn’t just create and leave it hanging; He puts it in order, everything in its place. To say it another way: He doesn’t tidy ‘the mess’ in His room; He sees a ‘new thing’, and puts the ‘new thing’ in order. He is creating, not fixing. He is doing a new thing, not making do with what is already there. He has a dream, not a problem.

What do I want?

So I’m thinking, what do I want my room to look like? I want a tidy and clean room, a neat closet, everything in place. I want it to smell nice and fresh. I want it to be light and airy. I want to place the desk near the window, so I can have my quiet time there.

Now I can go and make that happen, right? 🙂

What do I want my life to look like? I want to be the head and not the tail. I want to be above and not beneath. I want to take charge, and live a life of dependence upon the Lord. I want to be energised and joyful. I want to be a blessing. I want to get to know the Lord more intimately, and practice His presence throughout the day. I want to have a word in season, and love people. etc.

Now I can involve the Lord in this and make it happen by planning my time well; taking time for what really matters to me.

Let’s take time to see and speak that into existence. Our ‘seeing and speaking’ gives us focus and direction, and let’s get going. 🙂

Put THE Light on

Most importantly I want to say: If our life is dark, let’s put the light on. In the midst of any darkness, we may bring in THE Light Himself.  The Lord Jesus.  He brings Light into any confusion, depression, emptiness. Where He is, there is no darkness, no confusion, no sadness, no emptiness. Where He is, there is life in abundance. Purpose. Love. Grace.

The best way to a new, vibrant life is Jesus. Let’s spend time in His Presence and continue doing the ONE THING NEEDFUL.

Yay – to a tidy room and an abundant life in Christ!

(1 Jan 2017 – M’Cheyne’s BiblePlan)

Leave a Reply

